Yusef Komunyakaa has been selected as the 2011 Wallace Stevens Award recipient. The Chancellors of the Academy of American Poets make the decision for this award, and the recipient recieves $100,000. There will be a reading by all the 2011 Academeny of American Poets award recipients in New York City on Friday, October 21. The other awards and winners include: Joan Larkin- Academy Fellowship; C.D. Wright- Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize; Jeffrey Angles- Harold Morton Landon Translation Award; Dominic Siracusa- Raiziss/de Palchi Prize; Anna Moschovakis- James Laughlin Award; and Elana Bell- Walt Whitman Award.

For those not able to travel to NYC, keep in mind that Yusef Komunyakaa will be giving a reading in March at Kent State. I will post more on that when the time comes closer.