342/365 – My Fake Plastic Love

It’s pretty simple, but the world would be a better place if we could all just mean what we say and say what we mean. My friend Rhoda has a blog about relationships, and she knows the key to successful relationships is authenticity. This works in small scale and large scale relationships…a husband and wife or two heads of state. We try to keep ourselves so separate in our little bubbles and since we can’t see into anyone elses bubble, we don’t let them see into ours. Me, I strive for authenticity all the time. I present myself as I am. The only times I struggle with authenticity is when I don’t want to disappoint someone. But usually it’s better to be straight with them from the start if you can’t do something or don’t want to do something rather than hedging around it. So I mean, I could say the world would be a better place if there was no war or hunger or other big things, but I think from this small seed of authenticity, everything else would spring. But it’ll probably never happen that ever single person would completely say what they mean and mean what they say, and how would we know it for sure if it did, we are so used to artifice.

Powered by Plinky

