Wow, that title sounds like this post should be about BDSM. For those of you arriving here after a keyword search for that, I do apologize. I don’t have anything against role playing, but this is hardly the place for it. Hahaha. No, this is about forcing myself to get my poetry out there. My brother asked me: “Have you been writing creatively,” and I quickly answered yes. But when he asked if I had been sending stuff out the answer was “no, not since everything I sent out last was rejected.” I strongly dislike submitting my poetry for publication, but no one is going to do it for me, so I have to keep it up. If you’re going through something similar (i.e. procrastinating/dreading sending out), here are some easy steps to how I did it:

Step 1: Visit the New Pages Call for Submissions and/or Dutrope Digest.

Step 2: Research titles with upc0ming deadlines. Visit websites, archives, try to get a feel of what they’re looking for.

Step 3: Look at my own poems, decide what could be a good fit with applicable journals.

Step 4: Compile documents, following guidelines. For example, Juked prefers rtf files, some require specific formatting.

Step 5: E-mail submissions.

Step 6: Document on spreadsheet to keep track of where what was sent, estimated response time, and follow-ups.

Yesterday, I submitted two poems to two different themed anthologies, one about dogs at Salmon Poetry, and one about childhood in Ohio. I submitted three poems to BlazeVOX; three poems to Paradigm Journal; and five poems to Juked. Fingers crossed, but I’m please that I’m sending poems out again. I really do want people to read them! The moral of the story is, if you want your work out there, you’re the one who has to get it out there!

